Submitted by Eytan

In the 2005 Annual Crossword Puzzle Tournament, it looks like Al Sanders will make 4th place and not participate in the championship round, but a standard review of the top-scoring solutions show that the former #3, Patrick Jordan, had made an error that knocked him out.

In the finals, Sanders finishes first, only to discover he left two squares blank, which means he is in third place, which is the position he achieves every year.

Tyler Hinman goes on to win 1st place and is the youngest tournament winner ever.